Advertiser Disclosure

Best Personal Loans of 2026

Compare the best personal loan lenders to find low rates and flexible terms for your needs. Discover top picks for debt consolidation, home improvement, and more!

A personal loan is worth taking when it costs less than the debt it replaces. That sounds obvious, and it is exactly what most comparison pages skip, because the number that decides it is not the advertised rate. It is the origination fee.

We compared four lenders on what actually reaches your bank account. Two of them charge no origination fee at all. The rest deduct up to 8% or 9.99% from your proceeds before the money reaches you.

APRs verified directly against each lender on 25 August 2026. Rates change; check the lender before you apply.

Compare the best personal loans

LenderAPR rangeLoan amountOrigination feeMin. creditBest for
UpstartBest overall6.3%–35.99%$1,000–$75,000Up to ~8%600Short credit history
Happen BankGood credit6.53%–35.99%$1,000–$75,0000.00%–8.00%660Fixed rates to $75K
UpgradeFair credit7.74%–35.99%$1,000–$50,0001.85%–9.99%560Scores in the 500s
DiscoverConsolidation6.99%–24.99%$2,500–$40,000NoneNot disclosedLowest maximum APR
SoFiExcellent credit6.99%–35.49%$5,000–$100,000None~650Large loans with no fees

Ordered by total cost to a typical borrower, not by advertised rate.

The best personal loans of 2026

Best overall

Looks at education and employment as well as credit history.

Check Your Rate →Checking your rate is a soft credit pull
APR range
6.3%–35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000–$75,000
Term
3 or 5 years
Origination fee
Up to ~8%
Min. credit
600
Why we picked it

Upstart tops this list because it approves the widest range of borrowers. Its model weighs education and employment history alongside credit, so a thin file or a short work history is not the automatic decline it would be at a traditional lender. It also spans $1,000 to $75,000, covering both a small emergency and a full consolidation. The trade is an origination fee of up to roughly 8%, deducted from your proceeds, and only two term lengths. If your credit is strong enough to clear a no-fee lender, read the fee section below before you decide.

Pros
  • Considers education and job history, not credit alone
  • Borrow from $1,000 up to $75,000
  • Fast decisions and funding
  • Useful if you have little credit history
Cons
  • Only two term lengths, 3 or 5 years
  • Origination fee can reach roughly 8%
  • Top-end APR near 36%
Best for good credit

Formerly LendingClub. Fixed rates up to $75,000, with an origination fee that can start at zero.

Check Your Rate →Checking your rate is a soft credit pull
APR range
6.53%–35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000–$75,000
Term
24–84 months
Origination fee
0.00%–8.00%
Min. credit
660
Why we picked it

Happen Bank is the former LendingClub, rebranded. It sits between the no-fee lenders and the high-fee ones: the origination fee runs from nothing to 8.00% depending on your profile, so a strong applicant can borrow here at close to no cost while a marginal one pays most of what Upstart charges. At a 660 minimum it is aimed squarely at good credit rather than repair cases.

Pros
  • Borrow $1,000 to $75,000 with a fixed rate
  • No prepayment penalty, so paying early costs nothing
  • Rate check is a soft credit pull
  • Origination fee can be as low as 0.00% for strong applicants
Cons
  • Needs a 660 credit score, higher than Upgrade or Upstart
  • Origination fee reaches 8.00% at the other end of the range
  • Some amounts, rates and terms are unavailable in certain states
Best for fair credit

Accepts credit scores from 560, with small loan amounts available.

Check Your Rate →Checking your rate is a soft credit pull
APR range
7.74%–35.99%
Loan amount
$1,000–$50,000
Term
24–84 months
Origination fee
1.85%–9.99%
Min. credit
560
Why we picked it

Upgrade is a genuine option if your credit sits in the 500s and most lenders will not look at you. Price it on what actually lands in your account. At the top of the fee range, a $10,000 loan leaves you with roughly $9,000 while you repay the full $10,000 plus interest.

Pros
  • Accepts scores from 560
  • Borrow from as little as $1,000
  • Terms out to 84 months
  • Direct payment to creditors on consolidation loans
Cons
  • Origination fee up to 9.99%, deducted from your proceeds
  • Longer terms mean more total interest
  • Top-end APR near 36%
Best for debt consolidation
Discover

No fees of any kind, and pays your creditors directly.

No partner link · listed for comparison
APR range
6.99%–24.99%
Loan amount
$2,500–$40,000
Term
36–84 months
Origination fee
None
Min. credit
Not disclosed
Why we picked it

Discover has the lowest ceiling here at 24.99%, which matters more than the floor for most borrowers. Combined with no fees and direct creditor payment, it is the cleanest consolidation option on this page. Note it is now owned by Capital One.

Pros
  • No origination, prepayment or application fees
  • Pays creditors directly on consolidation loans
  • Lowest maximum APR on this list at 24.99%
  • 30-day money-back guarantee on the loan
Cons
  • $2,500 minimum
  • No published minimum credit score
  • Now part of Capital One following the 2025 acquisition
Best for excellent credit

No origination fee, no late fees and the largest loan ceiling on this list.

Check Your Rate →Checking your rate is a soft credit pull
APR range
6.99%–35.49%
Loan amount
$5,000–$100,000
Term
2–7 years
Origination fee
None
Min. credit
~650
Why we picked it

SoFi is the cheapest borrowing on this page if you can qualify, because it charges no origination fee, no late fee and no prepayment penalty, so the full amount you borrow reaches your account. The catch is qualifying: it wants roughly 650 and up, the minimum loan is $5,000, and the advertised floor needs both autopay and a member discount. It sits last here because fewer readers will get approved, not because it is a worse loan.

Pros
  • No origination fee, no late fee, no prepayment penalty
  • Borrow up to $100,000, the highest here
  • Rate check is a soft credit pull
  • Unemployment protection on eligible loans
Cons
  • $5,000 minimum, so no small borrowing
  • Lowest rate needs autopay plus a member discount
  • Strong credit required for the best pricing

The origination fee is the part that costs you

Two lenders here advertise a floor near 6.3% to 6.99%. That looks like a close race until you account for the fee that comes out before the money lands.

On a $10,000 loanFee chargedYou actually receiveYou repay
SoFiNone$10,000$10,000 plus interest
DiscoverNone$10,000$10,000 plus interest
Happen Bank0.00%–8.00%$9,200–$10,000$10,000 plus interest
UpstartUp to ~8%~$9,200$10,000 plus interest
UpgradeUp to 9.99%~$9,001$10,000 plus interest

You repay the full amount either way. So if you need $10,000 in hand from a lender charging a 9.99% fee, you have to borrow closer to $11,110 and pay interest on all of it. That is why a no-fee lender with a slightly higher advertised rate is often the cheaper loan.

The fee is also why comparing APRs alone is misleading. APR is meant to fold fees in, but only over the full term. Repay early and the fee does not shrink with it.

Struggling with debt rather than shopping for a loan?

If your balances are already past the point where a consolidation loan helps, or you cannot qualify for a rate below what you are paying now, a loan is not the answer. Debt relief negotiates the balance itself rather than refinancing it.

Check our recommendations for the best debt consolidation options, starting with National Debt Relief.

See If You Qualify →

Debt relief can affect your credit score. It is not right for everyone.

Other lenders worth comparing

These come up repeatedly in personal loan roundups and are worth a quote if none of the four above fits. We have not verified their current rates, so we are not publishing numbers we cannot stand behind, and we have no partnership with any of them.

LightStream
Low rates for strong credit, no fees
Best Egg
Secured and unsecured options
Happy Money
Built specifically for credit card payoff
Achieve
Joint applications and member discounts
Avant
Lower credit score thresholds
LendingPoint
Fast funding for fair credit
OneMain Financial
Secured loans and branch network
Prosper
Peer-to-peer marketplace
Universal Credit
Sister brand to Upgrade for poor credit
Reach Financial
Consolidation focused

Listed for reference only. Not ranked, not linked, and not independently rate-checked.

How we picked

We started from the rate each lender publishes on its own site and checked every figure on the day this page was updated, rather than carrying over numbers from a previous version. Anything we could not confirm from the lender directly was left out.

We then ranked on total cost rather than headline APR, because origination fees of 8% to 10% change the answer materially. Loan range, term flexibility, minimum credit score and whether the rate check is a soft pull all fed into the order.

Two lenders were removed from the previous version of this page. Marcus by Goldman Sachs stopped originating personal loans in January 2023 and Goldman exited consumer lending. Credible was removed as a marketplace rather than a lender. Neither should have still been listed.

How we make money: some links on this page are partner links and we may be paid if you apply through them. That has no bearing on the ranking. Discover carries no partner link and is still ranked second.

Frequently asked questions

Does checking my rate hurt my credit score?
No. All four lenders here use a soft credit pull to show you an estimated rate, which does not affect your score. A hard pull happens only when you formally accept and complete an application. That means you can check your rate at SoFi and at Happen Bank back to back and compare two real offers without touching your score.
What credit score do I need for a personal loan?
It varies more than most guides admit. Upgrade accepts scores from 560 and Upstart from 600, while SoFi is realistically looking for around 650 and up. A higher score does not just improve approval odds, it moves you toward the bottom of the APR range, which is where the real saving is. If you are in the 500s start with Upgrade. Around 600 with a short credit file, Upstart weighs education and employment as well. At 660 and above, Happen Bank and SoFi will price you best.
Is a personal loan better than a balance transfer card?
If you can clear the balance inside a 0% intro period and you qualify for one, a balance transfer card usually wins. A personal loan is better when the balance is too large to clear quickly, when you want a fixed payoff date, or when you would not qualify for a meaningful transfer limit.
How much does the origination fee actually cost me?
It is deducted from the money you receive, not added to your balance. A 9.99% fee on a $10,000 loan means roughly $9,001 arrives while you repay the full $10,000 plus interest. To end up with $10,000 in hand you would need to borrow about $11,110. If that sounds like a bad trade, it is, and it is why a no-fee lender like SoFi is usually cheaper even when its advertised rate looks higher.
Can I pay a personal loan off early?
With all four lenders on this page, yes, and none charges a prepayment penalty. Paying early saves interest, but it does not refund an origination fee you already paid, which is another reason to favour a no-fee lender if you expect to repay ahead of schedule. SoFi charges no origination fee at all, and Happen Bank can start at 0.00% for stronger applicants.
What can I use a personal loan for?
Most commonly debt consolidation, home improvement, medical bills or a large one-off expense. Lenders generally prohibit using them for post-secondary education, investments or gambling. Consolidation is the strongest case, because you are replacing higher-rate debt with lower-rate debt. Check a consolidation rate at Happen Bank or at SoFi, and if the balances are already beyond what a loan can fix, National Debt Relief negotiates the balance instead.
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub) Disclosure

Checking a rate through us generates a soft inquiry on a person's credit report, which does not impact that person's credit score. A hard credit inquiry, which may affect that person's credit score, only appears on the person's credit report if and when a loan is issued to the person.

A representative example of payment terms for a Personal Loan is as follows: a borrower receives a loan of $15,262 for a term of 36 months, with an interest rate of 13.99% and a 6% origination fee of $916, for an APR of 18.40%. In this example, the borrower will receive $14,346 and will make 36 monthly payments of $522. Loan amounts range from $1,000 to $75,000 and loan term lengths range from 24 months to 84 months. Some amounts, rates, and term lengths may be unavailable in certain states, and may not be available for all Personal Loan products and/or through all application channels or platforms.

Unless otherwise specified, all credit products and deposit products are provided by Happen Bank, N.A., Equal Housing Lender (“Happen Bank”), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Happen, Inc., NMLS ID 167439. Credit eligibility is not guaranteed. Credit products are subject to credit approval and may be subject to sufficient investor commitment. Credit union membership may be required. “Happen” and the “H” symbol are trademarks of Happen Bank. Happen Bank is not an affiliate of Smarts, which is an unrelated third party. Happen Bank is not responsible for the products and services provided by this third party, which may receive compensation if you visit Happen Bank's websites or use any of its products or services.

Certain information that Happen Bank subsequently obtains as part of the application process (including but not limited to information in your consumer report, your income, the loan amount that you request, the purpose of your loan, and qualifying debt) will be considered and could affect your ability to obtain a loan. Loan closing is contingent on accepting all required agreements and disclosures.

For Personal Loans, APR ranges from 5.96% APR to 35.99% APR and origination/processing fee ranges from 0.00% to 8.00% of the loan amount. APRs and origination/processing fees are determined at the time of application. The lowest APR may be available to borrowers with excellent credit, subject to additional factors including, but not limited to, loan amount, loan term, and sufficient investor commitment. Advertised rates and fees are valid as of July 06, 2026, are subject to change without notice, and may not be available for all Personal Loan products and/or through all application channels or platforms.

*Same Day Funding: Between April 2026 and June 2026, 55% of Happen Personal Loans that were approved for funding (which is after your loan application is approved) on a given business day were disbursed within 24 hours. Happen Personal Loans that are approved for funding before 12:30 PM ET on a business day may be disbursed the same day. Actual availability of funds may vary and is dependent on multiple factors, including, but not limited to, your receiving bank's processing times and policies. A business day is defined as Monday through Friday and excludes the weekend and bank holidays.

Brian Meiggs
Brian Meiggs
Brian Meiggs is a personal finance expert, and the founder of Smarts, a personal finance site helping you easily explore your best money options. He helps readers follow the smart money in order to increase their earning potential and start building wealth for the future. He regularly writes about side hustles, investing, and general personal finance topics aimed to help anyone earn more, pay off debt, and reach financial freedom. He has been quoted as a top personal finance blogger in major publications including Business Insider, Yahoo! Finance, NASDAQ, Discover, and more.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted